Ahhhh…..Zumba!!!

….so…..I’m thinkin’ its official….Hello, my name is………and I am addicted to Zumba.  I am crabby when I don’t go…..and crave the sound of salsa music coupled with pitbull and madonna….my body screams to wear tight work out pants and racerback bras to keep the girls in during the high energy break it on down moves….sigh……………….

In the midst of getting dressed for a wedding reception over the weekend, my heel got caught in the fancy round belt buckle that I had so graciously dropped on the floor as I was debating which to wear.  I landed knee first into the marble step of my bathtub….OUCH!!!  The room was spinning and I felt surely I was going to pass out!!…the sad part…..I was sober!!!  I mean if the room is gonna spin at least give me a better reason then being a clutz!!  In comes the husband trying to figure out why I’m laid out on the bathroom floor in my party dress and 3 inch heels………well I fell dammit!!  He helps me up….and off to the party we go…..

I made it thru the reception……and tucked into bed with my leg elevated……and then…..2am rolls around and I wake up with the WORST pain ever….I can’t bend, walk, stand….just pain pain pain!! So what does the lovely husband do??….offers me a Ziploc bag full of ice…straight to the knee…..  Have you ever felt direct ice contact??….it hurts!! 

I am on day 5…and its getting better….so I am going to attempt to go to Zumba on Friday night… It’s still swollen on the inside part of my knee, I still can’t completely straighten it nor walk without a slight limp just yet…. all I know is…I have exactly 14 days before I will be runnin’ the streets of New York…..therefore my knee needs to heal a wee bit quicker!!

If you’ve never tried Zumba…..try it….and you must go back a minimum of 4 times.  By the 4th time you’ve picked up the steps and can really get a great work out in.  If you keep going….you just start addin’ in your own swagger!!……my instructor rocks and she throws in old skool dance moves laced with latin flavor!!….

I know people rave about P90X and this and that……but I prefer to work out in delirium…by the time I’m done…I have no idea that I just burned 500 calories!!….and you will never see me sweat…..I glisten…..and a zumba glow is the best glow eva!!

Here’s to shakin’ what cha momma gave ya from your tatas to your tucas…..CHEERS!!!

Leave a Reply

