Check in…….

As I perused thru facebook…..checking in on my friends, reading their posts, checking out new pics…..I came across a friend’s page……only to be reading condolences and reflections on the life she lived…..the life she lived…….WHAT???!!!!……..the woman that I had known and laughed with…..had passed away.  I knew she was ill but you just aren’t ever really ready for that final goodbye….especially not staring back at you on facebook.  

As I stared at her page I began to reflect & came to the realization that in the past 4 months I had lost 2 past co-workers & sent condolences to several friends for losing loved ones.  The hardest part is that with the social networking craze …we are only a facebook away……..just to check in.  We get caught up in our day to day & forget…….just to say Hi & how are you?…..to let someone know that in your busy thoughts….you thought about them…

Often times we click on someones facebook page…..and choose not to comment or even let them know you were there.  Often times we drift away from certain friends……but that in no way makes knowing they have passed away any easier.  The good times, the bad times, the laughs…..some people are just unforgettable.  

I often wonder…….what happens to your facebook page after you die……eventually its no longer there.  I don’t know how its no longer there….but I will notice my friends list is less….and……sadly….go look for them…….but they are no more…..their page is gone……..their joyful souls are gone…….and I’m left with the feeling that the saying “here today, gone tomorrow”…….is a morbid sense of reality.

If you are a friend to someone………..make a conscientious effort………to check in………..here’s to living your life like you want to be remembered……….CHEERS!!!

Leave a Reply

